Bloom Everyday

Inspiration for Healthy Living.

Slowcooker Tomato Sauce (Take 2)

I didn’t have wine on me for my sisters excellent crock-pot fresh tomato sauce, so here is my version of an easy homemade sauce.

What You Will Need:

tomatoes, diced, 4 1/2 pounds
onion, medium, diced
tomato paste, one small can
dried basil, 1 tablespoon
dried italian seasoning, 1 1/2 tablespoons
fresh oregano, 1 tablespoond
fresh basil, 1 tablespoon
dried parsley, 1/2 tablespoon
sugar, 2 1/2 tablespoons
salt & pepper
olive oil, 1 tablespoon

1. Get your crockpot ready, put in the oil.

2. Put the rest of the ingredients in the crock pot.

3. Cook on low for 5 – 6 hours.

4. Immersion blend the mixture.

5. Cook for an additional hour.

6. Portion and freeze until you are ready to eat!

6 Comments»

  Anne@frommysweetheart wrote @

What a beautiful sauce! And I love that you make it in the crockpot. (Plus it gives me a reason to pull out my immersion blender again!)

  The Kitchen Noob wrote @

I like the idea of a sauce made from fresh tomatoes as opposed to canned. For the past couple of years the tomato crop here hasn’t been great. Maybe next year?

I imagine your sauce has a lightness, or a freshness, or even a crispness that a sauce made from cans doesn’t have. 🙂

  bloomeveryday wrote @

It tastes so fresh and still has the depth of flavor – we are huge fans of it. And it really isn’t too difficult to make or clean up either. 🙂

  The Kitchen Noob wrote @

oops, that wasn’t meant to be a reply lol

  Super Easy Baked Pasta « Bloom Everyday wrote @

[…] is a great meal to make with the crockpot tomato sauce I made the other night. Super fast and super […]

  Pizza Two Ways « Bloom Everyday wrote @

[…] Two:red sauce, jalapenos, olives, pepperoni for him, parm and cheddar […]


Leave a comment