Bloom Everyday

Inspiration for Healthy Living.

Homemade Fresh and Easy Tomato Sauce

It is tomato season. The harvest is ripe, as evidenced by my over-flowing counter, and each day brings a new crop. I can barely keep up with all the tomatoes (as I am sure any of you out there growing your
own tomato plants can testify to as well).

Even if you aren’t growing your own tomatoes this year, you can snag up some great deals at your local grocer since tomatoes are in season.

I am all about simple, easy, one-pot meals. My favorite meals are crock-pot meals. Set it and forget it!

So in an attempt to use all of my beautiful fresh tomatoes, I wanted to create a simple, fresh tomato sauce that didn’t take any time to prepare.

Here is the result:


6-8 fresh large tomatoes, diced
1 onion, chopped (I used this from my garden too!)
3 cloves garlic, minced
3 Tbsp fresh basil (this came from the garden too, but if you don’t have access to fresh basil, substitute
with 3 teaspoons dried)
1 tsp dried oregano
½ cup of your favorite dry white wine
Salt and Pepper to taste


Combine all ingredients in your crock-pot. Set on 8 hours low heat. Half way through cooking, use an immersion blender to blend ingredients (blend until desired consistency; I like my sauce slightly chunky).

Place sauce back in crock-pot and continue cooking for another 2-4 hours or until sauce is thick. Store in an airtight container in refrigerator for up to a week or place in airtight containers and put in the freezer to use later.

Serving Suggestions:

Use this sauce to top your favorite pasta or polenta. Use in lasagna or eggplant parmesan. Or better yet, make some homemade pizza! Delish!

-Heather @ BloomEveryday

7 Comments»

  Cheryl and Adam @ pictureperfectmeals.com wrote @

Sadly for us we had to forgo our garden this year and so forgo the indescribable pleasure of eating fresh tomatoes from our own garden. Luckily we have dear friends who have shared their bounty with us, but even so it’s not quite the same. Still, by way of thanking them we’ll forward your delicious sauce to them…

  bloomeveryday wrote @

Thanks for passing the recipe along – it’s a tasty and easy way to enjoy homemade sauce! Hope you can enjoy some of it too. 🙂

  Karen wrote @

It was an extremely good year for my heirloom tomatoes. My counters have been covered for weeks now. I have made quarts and quarts of sauce that is now in my freezer. I know you will enjoy your delicious sauce.

  bloomeveryday wrote @

It’s great in the middle of winter to pull out some homemade sauce on a cold night! Who knew tomatoes could be a comfort food? 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

  Vegetarian Loves ME: Stuffed Shells Edition « Bloom Everyday wrote @

[…] Large Pasta Shells, 1 box > Your favorite red sauce (like our recipe), as needed > red pepper flakes, as desired > Fresh herbs (I used oregano, tarragon, basil), […]

  Jen Roque wrote @

I love any fresh tomato sauces! Looks superb!

  Slowcooker Tomato Sauce (Take 2) « Bloom Everyday wrote @

[…] didn’t have wine on me for my sisters excellent crock-pot fresh tomato sauce, so here is my version of an easy homemade […]


Leave a Reply

