Bloom Everyday

Inspiration for Healthy Living.

Red Lentil and Vegetable Tacos

Since I work full-time, sometimes dinner during the week becomes more of a chore than an enjoyable experience. However, I am all about one pot meals – quick, easy, no fuss clean-up. So this recipe has my name all over it. I usually mix up the vegetables I put in the tacos depending on what is in season (and is often dictated by what I have in fridge that night).

Some fun facts about Lentils:

♦ Lentils are high in protein and fiber
♦ Lentils are low in fat
♦ Lentils are quick cooking (Sign me up!)

What you will need:

♦ 1 ¾ cups water
♦ ¾ cup Red Lentils
♦ 1 small onion chopped
♦ 1 clove garlic (or substitute ¼ tsp garlic powder)
♦ ½ tsp salt
♦ ½ tsp cumin
♦ Pepper to taste
♦ Corn taco shells
♦ Assorted Vegetables (I used red pepper, carrots, radishes, olives, and lettuce)
♦ Blended cheese (reduced fat) and sour cream (light)

In a medium saucepan combine water, lentils, onion, garlic, salt, pepper and cumin. Bring mixture to a boil, and reduce heat to low.

Cook for 15 minutes covered. Most of liquid should absorb and the lentils will cook down.


Take a fork and mash the lentil mixture.

Spoon lentils into the taco shells and top with vegetables, cheese, and sour cream. Bon Appetite! Good for you Mexican food! Skip the take-out – dinner is served in less than 20 minutes. Oh, yeah, and did I mention only one pot to clean; my favorite part!

– Heather @ BloomEveryday

What is your favorite go-to weeknight meal?

7 Comments»

  Colline wrote @

I enjoy eating lentils: both the red ones and the brown ones. What I do is make them in soup form. After cooking them for most of the day on the stove, they are delicious and creamy.

  bloomeveryday wrote @

With Fall just around the corner, I am looking forward to cooking more soups! I will definitely need to try making an all day lentil soup. You have given me inspiration to do a series on soup this Fall/Winter.

  Kiri W. wrote @

How interesting, I’ve never had lentils in my tacos. Sounds great, and I have red lentils waiting to be used 🙂 Great idea!

  Ruth Reynoso Sance wrote @

It looks delicious!! I love lentils!!

  Kimberly @ Badger Girl Learns to Cook wrote @

These look fantastic! I love veggie tacos. I usually make them with black beans but I love the idea of red lentils. Thanks! 🙂

  Professor Vegetable wrote @

Fantastic recipe. I love using lentils and I think it is awesome when they turn up in unexpected places – like tacos. YUMMY!

  Sharon wrote @

I love quick, one pan dinners! 🙂 Those tacos are so bright and colourful! I must give them a try! xx


Leave a Reply

