Bloom Everyday

Inspiration for Healthy Living.

Vegetarian Loves ME: Calzone Edition

Wife. Sister. Daughter. Vegetarian. Friend. A lot of things can be used to describe me; but the one I’ve noticed that really sticks out is my vegetarianism. Some say I have a disease. Some think I am delusional and I’ll “snap” out of it some day. Regardless, I am a vegetarian and proud of it. I am not fibbing when I say I love being a vegetarian. It’s one of my favorite attributes about myself. I believe I was born with a natural inclination away from meat. My husband, however, is a full-on meat-eating carnivore. He loves his burgers and chicken dishes. So how do we make meals work when I fall into about 3% of the U.S. Population? Let me show you quick, delicious meals that will feed picky eats, vegetarians, and meat-eaters alike. That’s what you’ll find in my series Vegetrian Loves ME (meat eaters).

Who doesn’t love pizza in a pocket? This meal is satisfying, delicious, and full of flavor! Let me show you how it’s done.

This dish is comprised of two elements, the dough and the filling. Let’s start with the dough. Of  course you can buy premade dough at the store, but here is my neverfail bread machine (love this kitchen tool) recipe. Just throw the ingredients in your maker when you get home and you’ll have easy, homemade pizza dough with little effort!

The filling is really up to you. You can stuff these bad boys with anything! Here is the recipe I made last night to stuff the calzones with.  It was a corn, onion, pepper filling and Mark’s had pepperoni bits in his as well.

Dough (makes 1.5 pounds)

3 cups all-purpose flour
1/4 teaspoon cracked salt
1 1/2 teaspoons active dry yeast
1/2 teaspoon italian seasoning
1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
1 cup water, room temperature
2 tablespoon oil

1.  Place flour, salt, italian seasoning, garlic powder in the bread machine bay. Use your finger and create a small “well” in the flour. Measure the yeast and put all of it in the well (this is an important step).

2. Take the water and the oil, carefully pour it around the flour mixture. Do not get the yeast wet!

3. Close the lid, hit the right setting, and you’ll have pizza dough in no time.

Filling

1/2 of a fresh red pepper, diced
a palmful of whole olives, sliced
1/3 cup onion, diced
1 teaspoon oil
1/2 cup of frozen or fresh corn
2 garlic cloves, chopped
1/2 teaspoon basil, dried
1/2 teaspoon parsley, dried
salt & peppers
1 small whole pepperoni stick, diced
Your favorite tomato sauce
Cheddar cheese, grated
Ramano cheese, grated

1. In a saute pan, put the oil and onions in. Cook until the onions are slightly tranlucent and soft. Add the corn, red pepper, olives, garlic, and seasonings. Cook until soft but still has a bite. Place in a bowl on the side until ready to use.

2. Add the pepperoni to the pan and cook until they become crispy. A lot of oil will come out of these guys and crisp up the meat.

Putting it Together
1. Take the premade pizza dough and divide it into 4 servings. Take each one and form it into a flat circle (as best you can).

2. Fill the inside with tomato sauce, filling, cheese, and then fold close. Seal as much as possible (repair any tears with with excess pizza dough). Half are filled with pepperoni, half are not.

3. Put cheddar cheese on top of veggie calzones, ramano on top of the pepperoni. Then transfer all calzones to a baking sheet or pizza stone.

4. Cook in 4oo degree oven for 20 to 25 minutes or until golden brown.

 

5. Enjoy!

This is a meal your family will love. It’s nutricious and fun to make. If I can do it – you can too!

Katie @ BloomEveryday
       “Let’s do life together”

What are your tips for “picky” eaters?

1 Comment»

  Pizza Two Ways « Bloom Everyday wrote @

[…] Make my favorite dough or get your favorite (about 1.5 […]


Leave a Reply

